Mullin Continues to Fight President’s Overreaching Rules on Power Plants


WASHINGTON – December 02, 2015 – (RealEstateRama) — Congressman Markwayne Mullin (OK-02) on Tuesday voted to disapprove the Obama administration’s final rules regulating emissions from power plants. The resolutions, S.J. Res. 23 and S.J. Res. 24, passed the U.S. Senate on November 17, 2015, and are identical to the disapproval resolutions Mullin cosponsored in the U.S. House of Representatives.

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has interpreted sections 111(b) and 111(d) of the Clean Air Act as the authority needed to set emissions standards for new fossil fuel-fired power plants and require states to submit plans to meet targets set for existing power plants. The EPA finalized its rules regarding the emissions of new and existing power plants on October 23, 2015.

S.J. Res 23 and S.J. Res. 24 passed the House by a vote of 242-180 and 235-188, respectively. Both resolutions will now go to the president’s desk.


Previous articleInhofe Votes to Advance Energy and Water Development Appropriations Act of 2016
Next articleBill Supporting Oklahoma’s Rural Water Systems Goes to President’s Desk